IFFI conferred Michael Douglas

IFFI conferred Michael Douglas with Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award

Hollywood actor and producer Michael Douglas was conferred the prestigious Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Cinema at the 54th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) in Goa on Tuesday (November 28, 2023).

IFFI conferred Michael Douglas

Douglas, accompanied by his spouse, the BAFTA Award-winning eminent actress and philanthropist Catherine Zeta-Jones, and their son and actor, Dylan Douglas, received the award at a glittering closing ceremony of the IFFI 54, amid a rousing standing ovation by the audience.

Michael Douglas said, “It’s a tremendous honour to receive this award, a career life achievement. When I heard about the award, my family and I were elated.”

Douglas said that cinema can unite and transform people with cross-cultural artistic expressions.

Douglas expressed his admiration for Indian Cinema, saying RRR, Om Shanti Om, and Lunch Box are some of his favorite Indian films.

A legacy spanning over 50 years in film and television, Michael Kirk Douglas is an American actor and film producer. He has received numerous accolades, including two Academy Awards, five Golden Globe Awards, a Primetime Emmy Award, the Cecil B. DeMille Award, and the AFI Life Achievement Award.  and numerous other honors.

His profound impact on cinema resonates through iconic roles, from his Academy Award-winning portrayal as Gordon Gekko in Wall Street to gripping performances in films like Fatal Attraction, The American President, Basic Instinct, Traffic, and Romancing the Stone, among many others.

Beyond his acting prowess, Douglas’s influence extends to production, marked by remarkable works such as One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, The China Syndrome, and The Game. IFFI conferred with Michael Douglas

The Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Cinema was previously bestowed upon luminaries such as Martin Scorsese, Bernardo Bertolucci, Dilip Kumar, Carlos Saura, Krzysztof Zanussi, and Wong Kar-wai.

India Blooms News Service first published this post.